Our Leadership is Insane (or why I need the serenity prayer)

Scant weeks after President Obama approved budget cuts eliminating funding for education programs in this country, including the National Writing Project, Reading is Fundamental, the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, and Teach for America,” his wife Michelle Obama announced she will be writing a book “about eating healthy and her White House garden; further, on a recent visit to Chile the First Lady went on to say she and her husband “grew up poor and with few resources [and] their success. . .was due to their good educations.”

The politicos of this supposed “greatest nation on Earth” continue to act illogically and inconsistently, now funding golden child STEM (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) (Washington) yet pulling the plug on programs that prepare students to succeed across the disciplines.

The more I read about the state of education in the United States, the more I am dismayed and overwhelmed. I must cling to the ideas behind the words of Edward Everett Hale: “I am only one, but I am one. I cannot do everything, but I can do something. And I will not let what I cannot do interfere with what I can do.”

This entry was posted in All Posts, Journal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

